Rank Structure

Everyone in the Air Cadets (and the RAF) can be identified by the badges of rank that they wear. This list of basic adult and cadet ranks will help you identify them. The list starts with adults (instructors and senior staff) followed by cadet ranks, with the most senior in each group at the top.

Officer ranks

Wing Commander VR(T)
Squadron Leader VR(T)
Flight Lieutenant VR(T)
Flying Officer VR(T)
Pilot Officer VR(T)

Non-commissioned Officer ranks

Warrant Officer ATC
Flight Sergeant ATC
Sergeant ATC

Civilian Staff

No Badge Civilian Instructor

Cadet Non-commissioned Officer (NCO) ranks

Cadet Warrant Officer
Cadet Flight Sergeant (Over 18yrs)
Cadet Flight Sergeant
Cadet Sergeant (Over 18yrs)
Cadet Sergeant
Cadet Corporal (Over 18yrs)
Cadet Corporal
22 (Sandy) Squadron Air Cadets