Duke Of Edinburgh's Award

What is the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award?

The Air Cadets offers you the opportunity to get involved with the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award scheme.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is a real adventure from beginning to end. It is a non-competitive and achievable by all award. The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award demands commitment, and the more you put into it the more you will get out.

For a guide of D of E please follow the link here


There are three levels which, when successfully completed, lead to a Bronze, Silver or Gold DofE Award. You need to be at least 14 years old to begin the bronze award.


There are four sections at Bronze and Silver level and five at Gold:

  • Volunteering - helping someone, your community or the environment.

  • Physical - becoming fitter through sport, dance or fitness activities.

  • Skills - developing existing talents or trying something new.

  • Expedition - planning, training for and completing an adventurous journey .

  • Residential - Only at Gold level.

Why take part in The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award?

  • It’s a real adventure
  • You will learn new skills and develop one’s you already had
  • It’s a sense of achievement
  • Meet new friends
  • Gain confidence
  • It looks great on your C.V, and impresses potential employers and universities
  • You’ll will make a difference to other people’s lives
  • Above all it’s fun!!
22 (Sandy) Squadron Air Cadets